If you’re driving with a child in the car, it’s important to know the law about child safety so that you won’t violate the rules. In the state of Texas, children younger than 8 years old must ride in some sort of “child passenger safety seat” system.
The exact requirements will depend on what is appropriate for a child. This will vary based on the child’s weight, height, and age. Knowing the rules and acting accordingly will not only protect your young passenger but keep you from facing the penalties for violating the law.
If you’ve been injured by the negligence of another, you could hire any car wreck law firm, or you can hire a car collision attorney in West Houston. Joe Stephens has been defending injury victims in Texas for over 3 decades from negligent individuals, companies, and greedy insurance companies. As a top rated vehicle wreck lawyer in Katy, TX, Joe handles all cases personally, and his staff is always available to answer questions.
What Are the Penalties for Violating Child Safety Seat Laws in Texas?
Texas takes child safety very seriously. That’s why there are penalties for violating child safety seat laws.
A seat belt or car safety violation can result in a misdemeanor and a fine of up to $200. However, the exact consequences may vary for each case.
If you’re wondering what are the penalties for violating child safety seat laws because you’re facing a potential ticket, talk with an expert attorney. An attorney will help you better understand the laws and what you may be facing for breaking them.
Officers may discover this violation during a routine traffic stop. They may also issue a citation after a car accident. If you’re unsure of whether you are currently following this safety law, act today and avoid the potential penalties.
Statute of Limitations
If a problem with your child’s seat occurs due to a malfunction, it may be the fault of the manufacturer rather than a user error. If the product is defective, you’ll want to prove you’re not at fault for any wrongdoing. This is especially important if injuries result from a faulty product in a car wreck.
Texas has a two-year statute of limitations window for product liability and personal injury cases. This means the lawsuit must start within two years of the injury. For children, this clock does not start ticking until they turn 18 and are legally able to file a lawsuit. Parents are also able to file on behalf of their children.
Using the Correct Seats for Your Child
Car seats are effective devices to reduce avoidable injuries and death during a car accident, but only when a child is in the best seat for their height, weight, and age.
Any child under the age of 2 must be in a rear-facing car seat in the rear of the vehicle. Take a look at the seat’s instructions. Once a 2-year-old reaches the maximum height and weight for the rear-facing placement, they can upgrade to a front-facing seat placed in the back seats of the car.
Once a child has again reached the seat’s maximum for their current placement, it’s time to upgrade to a booster seat. Look for this around 6 years old, but age will vary for children of different sizes.
According to Texas law, kids should remain in booster seats until they are at least 8 years of age or are over 4 feet 9 inches in height. Once they surpass either milestone, they can rely on the adult seatbelt only. They should still sit in the rear of the car though.
At age 13, children are allowed to sit in the front seat. No matter where they sit, a seat belt is always required.
If You or a Loved One Have Been Injured in a Car Wreck In Texas, Call Auto Accident Attorney Joe Stephens Now.
If your child has been injured in a car wreck due to a defective product, contact an experienced auto accident attorney in Texas. Joe Stephens has decades of experience in the industry and will handle your case with the care and attention your child deserves. Get a free case consultation, and he’ll get to work today.
The Stephens Law Firm, Car Accident Lawyers handles auto accident lawsuits across Texas, including these Houston cities.